Taylor County

US States / A-G / Florida / Taylor County

Taylor County is named for Zachery Taylor, who was a hero of the Mexican War and President of the United States of America.


Created:  December 23, 1856

County Seat:

Perry  1856 – present


County Courthouse – Perry 


Location:  301 South Monroe Street / East Jefferson Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Ben J B Smith

Contractor:  C C Totherow & Company Construction


Description: The building faces west and is a three story rectangular buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Perry. In 1983 the building was completely remodeled from the Classical Revival style structure which has a large dome and portico.. The west front now has an extended porch on the first story. There are smaller porches on the north and south sides. Vertical square pillars divide the windows. The renovation architect was Jim Robertson & Associates and the contractor was Harlie Lynch Construction Company.



Madison County

E – Lafayette County and Dixie County

S – Gulf of Mexico

W – Jefferson County





County Courthouse



















Photos taken 2009