Madison County

US States / A-G / Florida / Madison County

Madison County is named for James Madison, who was the fourth President of the United States of America.


Created:  December 26, 1827

County Seat:

San Pedro  1827 – 1840

Madison      1840 – present


County Courthouse – Madison


Location:  125 SW Range Street / Base Street

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Bishop and Greer

Contractor:  J L Crouse


Description: The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Madison and the west and east fronts have high porticoes supported by four large columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. There is stone trim on the corners. A balustrade runs along the roof line. On the center of the roof is a square tower topped with a white cupola with clock. There are smaller domes on each corner of the building. The building was remodeled in 1988. The architect was  Clemans, Rutherford and Associates and the contractor was W Dawson Rutherford Construction Company.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1880 and was destroyed by fire.



– Brooks County, Georgia and Lowndes County, Georgia

E – Hamilton County and Suwannee County

S – Lafayette County and Taylor County

W – Jefferson County





County Courthouse
















Photos taken 2009