Hamilton County

US States / A-G / Florida / Hamilton County

Hamilton County is named for Alexander Hamilton, who was the first United States Secretary of the Treasury.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

– Lowndres County, Georgia and Echols County, Georgia

E – Columbia County

S – Columbia County and Suwannee County

W – Madison County


Created:  December 26, 1827                Map of Florida highlighting Hamilton County

County Seat:

Micco       1828 – 1836

Walburg   1836 – 1838

Jasper      1838 – present


County Courthouse – Jasper


Location:  207 1st Street NE / 2nd Avenue NE

Built:  1955 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Yonge, Look & Morrison

Contractor:  I T Carter Construction


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Jasper. The south front has a small covered entrance at the center which projects from the building. The west front section also projects with a wide black horizontal band at the roof line. The roof is sloped. The building was remodeled in 2002. The architect was Jackson-Reeger Inc.


History:  The county was created in 1827 and Micco was designated as the first county seat in 1828. The first courthouse was a log cabin built in Micco in 1835. The second courthouse was a two story frame structure built in Jasper in 1850. The third  courthouse was a two story brick structure designed by George H Kennedy and constructed by J W Bynum in 1891. The building was damaged by fire in 1929. In 1932, the building was reconstructed. The architect was Mark & Sheftall and the contractor was Bland & Foster. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1955 to 1956.




County Courthouse – Jasper













Photos taken 2009