Gilchrist County

US States / A-G / Florida / Gilchrist County

Gilchrist County is named for Albert W Gilchrist, who was the Governor of Florida from 1909  to 1915.


Created:  December 4, 1925

County Seat:

Trenton  1925 – present


County Courthouse – Trenton 


Location:  112 South Main Street / SE 1st Avenue

Built:  1928 – 1933

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Smith, Holburn and Dozier of Jacksonville

Contractor:  H McNeil Wade of Trenton


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has three brick arches with white bases and the arches project from the main building. The windows are arched and the east and west wings are one story. The building was a Works Progress Administration project. The building was remodeled and expanded in 1965 with one-story utilitarian additions.


Note:  The low bid H McNeil Wade of Trenton for construction was $18,162.



– Suwannee County and Columbia County

E – Alachua County

S – Levy County

W – Dixie County and Lafayette County











Photos taken 2009