Broward County

US States / A-G / Florida / Broward County

Broward County is named for Napoleon Bonaparte Broward, who was a Governor of Florida.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Palm Beach County

E – Atlantic Ocean

S – Miami-Dade County

W – Collier County and Hendry County


Created:  April 30, 1915                                      Map of Florida highlighting Broward County.svg

County Seat:

Fort Lauderdale  1915 – present


Old County Courthouse – Fort Lauderdale 


Location:  201 SE 6th Street / SE 3rd Avenue

Built:  1960 – 1962

Style:  Modern

Architect:  James M Hartley

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a six story concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Fort Lauderdale. The building has a glass wall along south side towards the east end. The east end has a rounded corner with large glass windows and a tall glass pillar. The main entrance is located in the center section with a ten story section on the west side. The building was further enlarged in 1992 to 1995 by the construction of a seven story north tower. The architect was Michael A Shiff & Associates. The building is to be demolished.


County Judicial Complex – Fort Lauderdale 




Location:  201 SE 6th Street / SE 1st Avenue

Built:  2012 – 2017

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Spillis Candela & Partners/ Heery/Cartaya & Associates

Contractor:  Cummings A Cummings Inc. of Fort Lauderdale


Description:  The building faces south and is a twenty story concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Fort Lauderfdale on the west side of the former courthouse. On the east side is a five story section with vertical steel columns on the east side with recessed glass walls. The first story has a porch along on the south side supported by steel columns. On the west and north sides is the twenty story tower with dark blue colored glass walls. The roof line is flat. In the interior is a six story atrium. There are 74 courtrooms and hearing rooms. The bell from the old 1928 courthouse is located in the lobby. The building houses the Circuit Court of the 17th Judicial Circuit and County Court. 


History: The county was created in 1915 and Fort Lauderdale was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a converted Dade County school built in 1915. The second courthouse was a two story structure with a 90 foot tower with bell built in 1926 to 1928 at a cost of $375,000. The architect was Morris Peterman and the contractor was John G Johnson. The courthouse had additions built in 1947 and 1956 when the architect was William G Crawford and the contractor was Richardson Construction Company. The courthouse was razed in 1960. The third courthouse was constructed in 1960 to 1962. The architect was James M Hartley. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 2012 to 2017 at a cost of $178,000,000.


County Administration Building – Fort Lauderdale 




Location:  115 South Andrews Avenue / SW 2nd Street

Built:  1984 – 1985

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a four story concrete structure.


See:  The county is located in the Fourth Judicial District of the Court of Appeal – Fourth Judicial District located in West Palm Beach.




Old County Courthouse - Fort Lauderdale 













County Judicial Complex - Fort Lauderdale 

























County Administration Building - Fort Lauderdale 




Photos taken 2009 and 2018