Moffat County

US States / A-G / Colorado / Moffat County

Moffat County is named for David H Moffatt, who was a tycoon and railroad builder.


Created:  February 27, 1911

County Seat:

Craig  1911 – present


County Courthouse – Craig


Location:  221 West Victory Way / Barclay Street

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style: Modernistic

Architect:  William Norman Bowman of Denver

Contractor:   Eric Smith


Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Craig. The building was remodeled in 1962 changing the original structure from a three story Classical Revival style building. The center section extends from the main building and has a large entrance lobby. There is metal siding on the upper portion of the south front. The roof line is flat. The architect was Nixon and Jones Associates and the contractor was Frank Sperber.


Note:  The original courthouse had a portico with six columns. The building was remodeled in 1932. The appearance of the building was changed in 1962 to have a modern façade.


See:  The architect, William N Bowman of Denver, Colorado, designed courthouses in Colorado in Jackson CountyMontrose County and Weld County and in Nebraska in Scotts Bluff County.



N – Sweetwater County, Wyoming and Carbon County, Wyoming

E – Routt County

S – Rio Blanco County

W – Uintah County, Utah and Daggett County, Utah





County Courthouse – Craig



















Picture 1918 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2011