La Plata County

US States / A-G / Colorado / La Plata County
La Plata

La Plata County is named for the many silver deposits in the area as “la plata” is Spanish for “the silver”.


Created:  February 10, 1874

County Seat:

Parrott City  1874 – 1881

Durango      1881 – present


County Courthouse – Durango


Location:  1060 East 2nd Avenue / East 10th Street

Built:  1958 – 1959

Style:  Modern

Architect:  C Francis Pillsbury

Contractor:  Tecnco Builders


Description: The building faces west and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The center section has a large square red brick clock tower with the original 1892 clock from the old courthouse. In 1989, the building was remodeled and an addition added. The architect was Caudill Gustafson Ross & Associates Architects PC of Aspen and the contractor was J M Constructors, Inc. of Durango.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built by M R Shields in 1891. The present courthouse was constructed next to the old courthouse which was then razed in 1964.



N – Dolores County

E – Archuleta County

S – San Juan County, New Mexico

W – Montezuma County



























Photos taken 2011