Arapahoe County

US States / A-G / Colorado / Arapahoe County

Arapahoe County is named for Arapahoe County in the Kansas Territory, which was named for the Arapahoe Native American Nation.

Created:  Novemver 4, 1861

County Seat:

Littleton  1861 – present


County Courthouse – Littleton


Location:  2067 West Littleton Blvd / South Court Place

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style: Mission Revival

Architect:  John James Huddart of Denver

Contractor:  A B McDonald


Description: The building faces west and  is a two buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building at the top of a low hill with landscaped grounds. The west front has a central entrance on the first story with a small balcony above. On the roof is a large dormer. Overhanging eves had stone brackets at each corner. On the center of the roof is a square cupola with black colored dome.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $51,845.


See:  The architect, John J Huddart of Denver, Colorado, designed courthouses in Colorado in  Cheyenne County, Custer County, Elbert County, Logan County, Saguache County, Summit County and Washington County and in Nebraska in Deuel County and Garden County.


County Justice Center  -   Centennial




Location:  2325 South Potomac Street / East Fremont Avenue

Built:  1996 – 1998

Style: Modern

Architect:  DMJM

Contractor:  A D Miller Services, Inc


Description: The building faces northeast and is a six story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located in Centennial to the east of Littleton. The northeast front has a high glass panel wall with entrance at the center of the first story. The roof line is flat. The project manager was Crestone Management, Inc.


County Administration - Littleton




Location:   5334 South Prince Avenue / West Crestine Avenue

Built:  1975 – 1977

Style: Modern

Architect: Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description: The build  faces west and is a three story glass and concrete structure.



N – Denver County and Adams County

E – Washington County

S – Elbert County and Douglas County

W – Jefferson County and Denver County





























Photos taken 2011