Sevier County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Sevier County

Sevier County is named for Ambrose Sevier, who was a United States Senator from Arkansas.


Created:  October 17, 1828

County Seat:        

Paraclifta     1829 – 1871

Lockesport   1871 – 1905

DeQueen     1905 – present


County Courthouse – DeQueen


Location:  115 North 3rd Street / West Stillwater Street

Built:  1930 – 1931

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Witt, Seibert & Halsey

Contractor:  Hardy Construction Company


Description: The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of DeQueen. The east front has a projecting center section with an arched entrance on the first story. Brick pillars divide the windows on the second and third stories with a wide header above. There is a wide cornice running below the flat roof line. An addition was added on the north side in 1955 and 1975. In 1975, the architect was Reinheimer-Crumption & Associates and the contractor was M L James Construction Company


Note: The first court met at the home of Joseph English. In 1829 the first courthouse was a log cabin built in Paeaclita. The county seat was moved to Lockesburg in 1869 and the second courthouse was a brick structure . The county seat was moved to DeQueen in 1905 and the third courthouse was a two story brick building constructed by J T Mclenahan, John DeGroot and Fred DeGroot. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1930.



N – Polk County and Howard County 

E – Howard County and Hempstead County

S – Little River Country

W – McCurtain County, Oklahoma





County Courthouse – DeQueen
































Photos taken 2010 and 2019