Scott County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Scott County

Scott County is named for Andrews Scott, who was a territorial judge.

Created:  November 5, 1833

County Seat:        

Waldron  1833 – present


County Courthouse – Waldron


Location:  190 West 1st Street / Huston Street

Built:  1994 – 1995

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Perkins & Associates of Russellville

Contractor:  Besheare Construction of Fort Smith


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the north of the the center of Waldron. The building is constructed in the form of a “Y” with a west wing and a north wing. The south entrance has a large canopy extending from the building and supported by two pillars. The southeast corner of the building rises to a pitched roof with columns rising to form an arch in the centre. The roof is sloped.


Old County Courthouse – Waldron




Location:  SW – South Main Street / West 2nd Street

Built:  1933 – 1934

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  T E Bassham and Carnall Wheeler of Bassham & Wheeler of Sort Smith

Contractor:  Local labor and trades ( Public Works Administration )


Description:  The building faces  faces east and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of Waldron. The east front has a large stone section rising above the roof line. There is stone trim along the windows. The roof line is flat. The former courtroom was located on the second story and the third story housed the jail. 


Note: The first courthouse courthouse in 1833 was Featherstone’s log barn in Waldron. The second courthouse was built in 1859 next to the barn and was burned in 1864 during the Civil War. The third courthouse was a two story frame structure built by Mr. Creech and J L McCartney. The building was destroyed by fire in 1933. The fourth courthouse was constructed in 1933 to 1934.



N – Sebastian County and Logan County

E – Yell County

S – Montgomery County and Polk County

W – Le Flore County, Oklahoma





County Courthouse – Waldron
















Old County Courthouse – Waldron




Photos taken 2010