Pope County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Pope County

Pope County is named for John Pope, who was a Governor of the Arkansas Territory.


Created:  November 2, 1829

County Seat:        

Arkansas River site  1829 – 1830

Norristown                1830 – 1840

Dover                       1840 – 1888

Russellville               1888 – present


County Courthouse – Russellville


Location:  100 West Main Street / North Arkansas Avenue

Built:  1931 – 1932

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:   H Ray Burks

Contractor:  Gordon Walker and Russellville P H Company


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story buff colored brick and stone structure. The superintendent was M Mortensen. The building was renovated in 1994. The architect was Saxton Smith Associates and the contractor was Van Horn Construction, Inc.



N – Newton County and Searcy County 

E – Van Buren County and Conway County

S – Conway County and Yell County

W – Logan County and Johnson County