Polk County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Polk County

Polk County is named for James Knox Polk, who was the eleventh President of the United States of America.


Created:  November 30, 1844

County Seat:        

Mena  1844 – present


County Courthouse – Mena


Location:  507 Church Avenue / Mena Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Haralson and Mott of Fort Smith

Contractor:  Works Progress Administration


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The southeast front has a concrete framed entrance on the first story. Large vertical brick dividers separate the windows. On the second story, the windows are vertical. There are north and south wings. Above is a wide header. The roof line is flat. The building is a Work Progress Administration project. An addition was constructed on the northwest side,


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Polk County Courthouse



N – Scott County 

E – Montgomery County and  Howard County 

S – Howard County and Sevier County,

W – McCurtain County, Oklahoma and Le Flore County, Oklahoma



















Photos taken 2010