Logan County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Logan County

Logan County is named for James Logan, who was an early settler of western Arkansas.


Created:  March 22, 1871

County Seat:        

Reveille                   1871

Flat Top Mountain   1871 – 1873

Ellsworth                 1873 – 1875

Paris                       1875 – 1901

Paris                       1901 – present  ( Eastern District )

Booneville               1901 – present  ( Southern District )

* Logan County has two county seats


County Courthouse – Paris


Location:  25 West Walnut Street  / North Elm Street

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  A Klingensmith

Contractor:  Halter Brothers


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of Paris. The  south front and on each side is a large portico supported by four high white colored  columns with pediment at the top. The recessed entrances have a small pediment above the wood framed door. On the center of the roof is an octagonal white colored cupola with clock and steep gold colored roof at the top. The building was renovated in 1950. The architect was Max Sutton and N M Hardwick.


Note: The Courthouse Square was laid out in 1875 when Paris became county seat.


County Courthouse – Booneville




Location:  366 North Broadway / East 4th Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  lItalian Renaissance Revival

Architect:  Haralson and Nelson

Contractor:  J A Fraser and J K Fraser


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Booneville. The west front has a projecting center section with central entrance on the first story. The windows on the second story are arched. At the roof line is a clock. A horizontal band runs between the stories. A wide cornice runs below the flat roof line.


Note:  The first and previous courthouse was a wood structure built in 1901. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $90,000.



N – Franklin County and Johnson County

E – Pope County and Yell County

S – Yell County and Scott County

W – Sebastian County and Franklin County





County Courthouse – Paris

























County Courthouse – Booneville
















Photos taken 2010