Lincoln County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Lincoln County

Lincoln County is named for Abraham Lincoln, who was a member of Congress from Illinois ( 1847-1849 and President of the United States ( 1861-1865 ).


Created:   March 28, 1871

County Seat:        

Star City  1871 – present


County Courthouse – Star City


Location:  300 South Drew Street / Wiley Street

Built:  1941 – 1943

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Wittenberg and Delony of Little Rock

Contractor:  R G Reid, W H Prysock and others  ( WPA )


Description:  The building faces west and is a two buff colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds. The west front has a central entrance on the first story with small canopy above. There are vertical cement dividers between the windows with a wide header rising above the north and south sections which project. The roof line is flat. The contractor was Works Project Administration which employed R G Reid, W H Prysock and others to complete the labor. Materials were purchased from local suppliers. The building was renovated in 1978.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by R P Morrison and constructed by Monk & Ritchie in 1911.



N – Jefferson County

E – Arkansas County and Desha County

S – Drew County

W – Cleveland County and Jefferson County



















Photos taken 2011