Howard County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Howard County

Howard County is named for James H Howard, who was an Arkansas State Senator.


Created:  April 17, 1873

County Seat:

Center Point  1873 -

Nashville     1873 – present


County Courthouse – Nashville


Location:  421 North Main Street / Bishop Street

Built:  193841 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Erhart & Eichenbaum

Contractor:  E V Bird.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The east front has a black stone frame around the central entrance on the first story. Above are vertical windows on the second story. The north and south sections project from the main building. The roof line is flat. The building was a Work Projects Administration project.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built by F M Buxton, Banks Wright and E W Holt. In 1906.



N – Polk County

E – Pike County and Hempstead County

S – Hempstead County

W – Sevier County and Polk County

















Photos taken 2010