Grant County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Grant County

Grant County is named for Ulysses Grant, who led the Union forces to victory in the American Civil War and was elected President of the United States.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Saline County and Pulaski County

E – Jefferson County

S – Cleveland County and Dallas County

W – Hot Spring County


Created: February 4, 1869                     Map of Arkansas highlighting Grant County

County Seat:        

Sheridan  1869 – present


County Courthouse – Sheridan


Location:  103 West Center Street / South Main Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style: Greek Revival

Architect:  Ginocchio, Cromwell, Carter and Nyland, Inc.

Contractor:   Ernest J Ward, Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Sheridan. The central building has a large porch at the north side with four large pillars rising to a pediment. Above on the sloped roof is a square red colored brick and white colored wood cupola with clock. On the east and west sides are one story wings with sloped roofs.


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Hot Spring County.


History: The County was created in 1869 and Sheridan was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1870. The building burned on March 13, 1877. The second courthouse was built in 1880. The third courthouse was designed by R P Morrison and constructed by Monk & Ritchie in 1910. The fourth courthouse was designed by H Ray Burk and constructed by W R Odes & Son in 1938. The fifth and present was constructed in 1963 to 1964.




County Courthouse – Sheridan































Cornerstone 1938 County Courthouse

Photos taken 2011 and 2019