Fulton County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Fulton County

Fulton County is named for William Savin Fulton, who as the last Governor of the Arkansas Territory.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Ozark County, Missouri, Howell County, Missouri and Oregon County, Missouri

E – Sharp County

S – Sharp County and Izard County

W – Baxter County

Created:  December 21, 1842                Map of Arkansas highlighting Fulton County

County Seat:        

Pilot Hill   1842 – 1844

Salem     1844 – present


County Courthouse – Salem


Location:  123 South Main Street / West Church Street

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Salem. The east front has a canopy at the entrance, There are one story north and south wings. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story. 7The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 16th Judicial District and the County District Court of the 14th Judicial District. A double staircase was built on the west side in 1934. In 1960, a room was built on the south side. The building was remodeled in 1974 with the third story removed. In 1986, an office was built on the southwest corner for the clerk’s office. In 1997, a one story north wing was constructed.


See:  The 16th Judicial District includes Cleburne CountyIndependence CountyIzard County and Stone County.


History:  The county was created in 1842 and Pilot Hill was designated as the county seat. The county seat was moved to Salem in 1844 and the first courthouse was a one room log cabin erected on the public square. The courthouse burned during the Civil War. The second courthouse, a larger log structure was built and during the Civil War, this courthouse was also burned. The third courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1870 at a cost of $3,313. The courthouse burned on May 8, 1890. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1892 at a cost of $9,975.





County Courthouse – Salem



















Photos taken 2011