Conway County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Conway County

Conway County is named for Henry Wharton Conway, who was the territorial delegate to the United States House of Representatives.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Van Buren County

E – Van Buren County and Faulkner County 

S – Perry County

W – Yell County and Pope County


Created:  October 20, 1825                    Map of Arkansas highlighting Conway County

County Seat:

Cadron        1825 – 1829

Harrisburg   1829 – 1831

Lewisburg    1831 – 1850

Springfield   1850 – 1873

Lewisburg    1873 – 1883

Morrilton      1883 – present


County Courthouse – Morrilton


Location:  1175 Moose Street / Church Street

Built:  1929 – 1930

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Frank W Gibb of Little Rock

Contractor:  John P Jones of Hot Springs


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is rectangular is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Morrilton. There are six columns rising from the second story to a header at the top of the third story, terra cotta trim and Batesville stone. The first story entrance is recessed. The roof line is flat. 


See:  The architect, Frank W Gibb of Little Rock also designed courthouses in Bradley CountyCalhoun CountyDallas County, Franklin CountyPhillips County and Yell County.


Note: The previous courthouse was built in 1883 and burned in 1927. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $97,000.




County Courthouse – Morrilton
















Photos taken 2011