Ashley County

US States / A-G / Arkansas / Ashley County

Ashley County is named for Chester Ashley, who was a United States Senator from Arkansas.


Created:  November 30, 1848

County Seat:

Hamburg  1848 – present


County Courthouse – Hamburg 


Location:  205 East Jefferson Street / North Oak Street

Built:  1968 – 1969

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Renshaw and Taylor

Contractor:  Simmons and Sons


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular building has a central entrance on the south front with panel rising above the glass doors and showing the county seal. The windows are vertical with sections of brick wall between. The over hanging roof is supported by vertical white pillars. The roof is sloped slightly. On the east side is another rectangular building.


Note:  The previous courthouses were designed by F W Gibbs in 1905, which courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1921 and by Charles Thompson in 1923, which courthouse was replaced by the present courthouse.



N – Drew County

E – Chicot County

S – Morehouse Parish, Louisiana 

W – Union County and  Bradley County























Photos taken 2012