Navajo County

US States / A-G / Arizona / Navajo County

Navajo County is named for the Navajo an Native American people who reside in the area.


Created :  March 21, 1895

County Seat:        

Holbrook  1895 – present

County Courthouse – Holbrook

Location:  100 East Carter Drive / South Highway 77

Built:  1975 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  James Gresham & Associates

Contractor:  Tibshraeny Bros. Construction Inc


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story complex of red brick structures. The building on the south is the Judicial Building and faces north onto the courtyard. The entrance has a large glass window above the glass doors. There are few windows in the building. Inside the north entrance is an open lobby. The building is joined on the west side to the Administration Building which is along the west side.


Old County Courthouse – Holbrook




Location:  NE – East Arizona Street / South Navajo Boulevard

Built:  1898 – 1899

Style:  Richardsonian Romanesque

Architect:  D W Millard and George G Grosvenor

Contractor:  M J Kennedy and John C Grim of Flagstaff


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick structure. On the south front is a square brick tower with open arched area on the third story and brown stone trimmed arch on the first story. The windows on the second story are arched.  The building is now used as a museum.



N – San Juan County, Utah

E – Apache County

S – Graham County and Gila County

W – Gila County and Coconino County