Fairbanks North Star Borough

US States / A-G / Alaska / Fairbanks North Star Borough

Fairbanks North Star Borough is named for Charles W Fairbanks, who was a senator from Indiana, and North Star is the northern pole star.


Created:  January 1, 1964

Borough Seat:

Fairbanks  1964 – present


Borough Courthouse – Fairbanks


Location:  101 Lacey Street / 1st Avenue

Built:  1999 – 2001

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Charles Bettsworth & Company and McCool Green Architects

Contractor:  Alcan General, Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a five story glass, steel and concrete structure. On the south side is a wide plaza with a high circular porch supported by concrete pillars. The walls of the building are glass and the roof line is flat.  The building is named as the Rabinowitz Courthouse. 



N – Yukon-Koyukuk Borough

E – Yukon-Koyukuk Borough

S – Southeast Fairbanks Borough and Denali Borough

W – Yukon-Koyukuk Borough