Saint Clair County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Saint Clair County
St. Clair -PC

Saint Clair County is named for Arthur Saint Clair, who was president of the Continental Congress.


Created:  November 20, 1818

County Seat:        

Pell City  1818 – present

Ashville  1818 – present


County Courthouse – Pell City


Location:  1815 Cogswell Avenue / 19th Street

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Modern Colonial

Architect:  Martin J Lide of Birmingham

Contractor:  Howell P Henderson of R P Henderson & Son


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story white colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has a large overhanging central section supported by six coumbs with the second story and pediment above. The roof line is flat except for the overhang which is pitched. The building was renovated in 2001 to 2002. The architect was McCauley Associates Inc. and the contractor was Baggette Construction Inc.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by W Chamberlain and constructed in 1901.


See:  The architect,  Martin J Lide of Birmingham, designed courthouses in Alabama in Blount CountyCullman County, Marshall CountyTallapoosa County and Wilcox County and in Tennessee in Anderson CountyRoane County, Union County and White County.


County Courthouse – Ashville




Location:  129 5th Avenue / Courthouse Square

Built:  1844 – 1845

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Littleton Yarbrough.

Contractor:  Littleton Yarbrough.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story white colored brick structure. The south entrance has a large portico supported by four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The east wing projects south. The roof is pitched. The building was enlarged in 1886, 1911 and 1945. The building was enlarged in 1964. The architect was Horace M Weaver and the contractor was Dawson Construction Company. The building was further enlarged in 1982. The architect was Poole, Pardue Morrison & Associates and the contractor was Ralph Wilkinson Construction Company. The building was renovated in 2010 to 2011. The architect was 2WR/ Holmes Wilkins Architects Inc. and the contractor was Cosper Construction, Inc.


See:  Other antebellum courthouses in Alabama are located in Coosa County Lowndes County and Perry County.


County Administration – Ashville




Location:  7th Avenue / Courthouse Square

Built:  1993 – 1994

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Watson Watson Rutland / Architects Inc.

Contractor:  C D Willison & Sons, Inc.


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building has a west wing and north wing joining at the central entrance which has a small overhang with columns. There are dormers on the third story.



N – Blount County and Etowah County

E – Etowah County, Calhoun County and Talladega County 

S – Talladega County and Shelby County

W – Jefferson County and Blount County





County Courthouse – Pell City























County Courthouse – Ashville






















County Administration – Ashville










Photos taken 2010 and 2014