Montgomery County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Montgomery County

Montgomery County is named for Lemuel P Montgomery, who was a Major during the Creek War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Autauga County and Elmore County

E – Macon CountyBullock County and Pike County 

S – Pike County and Crenshaw County

W – Lowndes County


Created:  December 6, 1816                                                      Map of Alabama highlighting Montgomery County

County Seat:

Fort Jackson  1816 – 1818

Montgomery   1818 – present


County Courthouse – Montgomery


Location:  100 South Lawrence Street / Washington Avenue

Built:  1956 – 1958

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Pearson Title and Narrow

Contractor:  Bear Brothers, Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Montgomery. The east side has a projecting section faced with brown colored stone and recessed entrance on the first story. There is concrete grill work along the east side. The north section extends west with a projecting section with recessed first story towards the east end. There are horizontal windows with vertical concrete dividers. The roof line is flat.  The building houses the County District Court. The building was renovated from 1988 to 1990.


See:  The contractor, Bear Brothers, Inc. also constructed the courthouse in Chilton County.


County Justice Center – Montgomery




Location:  251 South Lawrence Street / Adams Avenue

Built:  1985 – 1987

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Pearson Humphries Jones & Associates.

Contractor:  James C Welch Construction Company & Andrew and Dawson Inc. of Auburn


Note:   During construction James C Welch Construction Company went into bankruptcy and Andrew & Dawson Inc. of Auburn completed the project.


Description:  The building faces west and is a four story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Montgomery. The west front has a one story projecting entrance on the north side. Above the portico are a series of four framed windows on each story. The center section projects from the main building and has no windows. The roof line is flat. The building is named as the Phelps-Price Justice Center. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 15th Judicial Circuit.


History:  The county was created in 1816 and Fort Jackson was selected as the county seat. In 1818, the county courts were moved from Fort Jackson to Montgomery (Alabama Town) and the court met at the home of Neil Blue. The first courthouse was erected on Court Square in 1822. The second courthouse was built on Court Square by John Figh in 1838. The third courthouse was designed by Charles C Oredeman and built in 1854. The building was enlarged in 1894 by McGraith & Walker. The fourth courthouse was constructed in 1956 to 1958. The Justice Center was constructed in 1985 to 1987. 


See: The Alabama Supreme Court – Court of Appeal is located in Montgomery County.




County Courthouse – Montgomery

























County Justice Center – Montgomery
















Photos taken 2010, 2014 and 2018