Marshall County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Marshall County
Marshall -G

Marshall County – Guntersville is named for John Marshall, who was Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court.


Created:  January 9, 1836

County Seat:

Guntersville  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Guntersville


Location:  424 Blount Avenue / Taylor Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Modern

Architect:  C H McCauley

Contractor:  W L Costou


Description:  The building  faces northwest and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The west entrance on the second story has a limestone portico. The building forms a “T” and descends east down the slope of the hill. The red roof is pitched. The building was remodeled in 1962 to 1963. The architect was Martin J Lide of Birmingham and the contractor was Jesse and Chris Rush. An addition of four stories was built on the east side in 1989 and 1990. The architect was Adams Design Associates and the contractor was Consolidated Construction.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed and constructed by Edward M Wallen in 1895. The present courthouse was constructed in 1935 and remodeled in 1963.


See:  The architect,  Martin J Lide of Birmingham, designed courthouses in Alabama in Blount CountyCullman CountySaint Clair County, Tallapoosa County and Wilcox County and in Tennessee in Anderson CountyRoane County, Union County and White County.


County Courthouse – Albertville




Location:  133 South Emmett Street / West Main Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Federal

Architect:  C H McCauley

Contractor:  W L Costou


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The north front has vertical dividers with windows between. The entrance is at the center of the first story. The roof line is flat. An addition was built on the south side.



N – Madison County and Jackson County

E – DeKalb County

S – Etowah County

W – Blount County, Cullman County and Morgan County






































Photos taken 2010 and 2014