Marengo County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Marengo County

Marengo County is named for the Battle of Marengo, which was fought on June 14, 1800 between the French forces and Austrian forces near Alessandria in Italy.


Created:  February 6, 1818  

County Seat:

Linden  1818 – present


County Courthouse – Linden


Location:  101 East Coats Avenue / Main Street

Built:  1966 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Sherlock, Smith & Adams, Inc. of Montgomery

Contractor:  C F Halstead Contractor Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story yellow colored brick and concrete structure. The south front has a large portico in the center supported by six square brick pillars with pediment above at the roof line. The roof is sloped. The building was renovated in 2006. The architect was Goodwyn, Mills & Cawood Inc. of Montgomery and the contractor was Lovelady Construction Company, Inc. of Selma.


Note: The architect, Sherlock, Smith & Adams, Inc. of Montgomery, designed courthouses in DeKalb County, Geneva County and Monroe County.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Frank Lockwood and constructed by Dobson & Hand in 1901.



Old County Courthouse – Linden




Location:  Cahaba Avenue / Mobile Street

Built:  1649 – 1850

Style:   Greek Revival

Architect:  Town & Doc Davis

Contractor:  Town & Doc Davis


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story yellow colored brick and wood structure. The north front has a recessed porch with two large while columns.



N – Greene County and Hale County

E – Perry County, Dallas County and Wilcox County

S – Clarke County

W – Choctaw County and Sumter County


























Photos taken 2010