Lauderdale County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Lauderdale County

Lauderdale County is named for James Lauderdale, who was a Colonel during the War of 1812.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hardin County, Tennessee, Wayne County, Tennessee and Lawrence County, Tennessee

E – Limestone County

S – Lawrence County and Colbert County

W – Tishomingo County, Mississippi


Created:  February 6, 1818                                                        Map of Alabama highlighting Lauderdale County

County Seat:

Florence  1818 – present


County Courthouse – Florence


Location:  200 South Court Street / West College Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Northington, Smith & Kranert

Contractor:  J M Massey Jr.


Description:  The building faces east and is a five story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Florence. The east front has a canopy on the first story at the entrance. Narrow white colored vertical dividers separate the small windows. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 11th Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court.


History:  The county was created in 1818 and Florence was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built by Nollan Vaught in 1822. The second courthouse was designed by J W Golucke and constructed by Neely & Smith in 1901. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1963 to 1964.




County Courthouse – Florence


























Photos taken 2010 and 2018