Jackson County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Jackson County

Jackson County is named for Andrew Jackson, who was the 7th President of the United States from 1829 to 1837.


Created:  December 13, 1819

County Seat:

Sauta Cave  1819 – 1820

Sauta           1820 – 1828

Bellefonte     1828 – 1868

Scottsboro    1868 – present


County Courthouse – Scottsboro


Location:  102 East Laurel Street / South Broad Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Richard H Hunt

Contractor:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The center section has a portico on the north and south sides supported by four columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The east and west wings extend from the main building. On the center of the roof is a square white cupola with clock and gold dome at the top. The building was renovated in 1954. The architect was Charles H McCauley and the contractor was Construction Engineers, Inc. In 1967 and 1968 the wings were added.


See:  Little-Cleckler Construction Company of Anniston, Alabama also constructed courthouses in Alabama in Fayette County and Limestone County; in Georgia in Bleckley County, Clarke County, Lincoln County and Walker County; and in Mississippi in Franklin County, Lawrence County, Walthall County and Webster County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Public Square Historicasl Site


Old County Courthouse – Scottsboro




Location:  208 South Houston Street / Peachtree Street

Built:  1868

Style:  Colonial

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a one story red colored brick and wood structure. The rectangular building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city to the west of the courthouse and has a hipped roof. The building was located in Bellefonte and served as the courthouse until 1871. The building was moved to Scottsboro and is located at the Jackson County Heritage Museum.



N – Franklin County, Tennessee and Marion County, Tennessee

E – Dade County, Georgia and DeKalb County

S – DeKalb County and Marshall County

W – Madison County





County Courthouse




























Old County Courthouse










Photos take 2010 and 2014