Houston County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Houston County

Houston County is named for George Smith Houston, who was a Governor of Alabama.


Created:  February 9, 1903

County Seat:

Dothan  1905 – present


County Courthouse – Dothan


Location:  114 North Oates Street / East Main Street

Built:  1960 – 1962

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Donofro and Associates of Dothan

Contractor:  Slingluff Construction


Description:  The building faces west and is a four story red colored brick, glass and stone  structure. The west front has a central tower with canopy over the entrance on the first story, high glass wall to a header at the roof line, and forming a high peak at the top. On either side of the tower are brick pillars with glass panels on the outside portion. Along the first story is stone facing with wide arches There are no other windows along the front. The building was redesigned from 2001 to 2002. The architect was Charles Waid of Waid, Parrish and Associates of Dothan and the contractor was Clark Construction.


History:  The first courthouse was a brick structure designed by Andrew J  Bryan and constructed by M T Lewman & Company in 1905. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1960 to 1962.



 Dale County and Henry County

E – Early County, Georgia and Seminole County, Georgia

S – Jackson County, Florida

W – Geneva County and Dale County





County Courthouse – Dothan
















Photos taken 2009