Henry County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Henry County

Henry County is named for Patrick Henry, who was a Governor of the State of Virginia and a famous orator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

 Barbour County

E – Quitman County, Georgia, Clay County, Georgia and Early County, Georgia

S – Houston County

W – Dale County


Created:  December 13, 1819                                                    Map of Alabama highlighting Henry County

County Seat:

Richmond  1819 – 1826

Columbia   1826 – 1833

Abbeville    1833 – present


County Courthouse – Abbeville


Location:  101 Court Square / Kirkland Street

Built:  1965 – 1966

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Epps & Davis

Contractor:  Jones & Hardy


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff-red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building sits in the center of Court Square in the center of Abbeville. The roof overhangs the building and is supported by many thin pillars. Below the roof line runs a wide black colored band. Glass windows are above the entrance doors. The building has narrow vertical windows with panels between. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 20th Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court. On the north side of the building is the two story County Courthouse Annex which was donated by the Herndon family and renovated by Voak Construction of Headland. The building contains one courtroom.


See:  The 20th Judicial Circuit includes Houston County.


History:  The county was created in 1819 and Richmond was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a log structure built in 1822. In 1826, the county seat was moved to Columbia where the second courthouse, a log structure, was built. The county seat was moved to Abbeville in 1833 where the third courthouse, a log structure was built. In 1889, the fourth courthouse, a two story brick structure, was designed by Zacheriah Kirkland. In 1935, the fifth courthouse was a remodel of the fourth courthouse with exterior white colored  plaster. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 1965 to 1966.


Note:  In 1889, a courthouse was erected in Columbia which served until 1903 when Columbia became part of Houston County. The old white colored wood jail still stands at South Main Street and East North Street.




County Courthouse – Abbeville






















County Circuit Court courtroom



















Picture 1935 County Courthouse




County Courthouse Annex – Abbeville













Photos taken 2009, 2020 and 2023