Franklin County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Benjamin Franklin, who was a signer of the Declaration of Independence and who lived from 1706 to 1790.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Colbert County

E – Lawrence County 

S – Winston County and Marion County 

W – Itawambe County, Mississippi and Tishomingo County, Mississippi


Created:  February 6, 1818                                                        Map of Alabama highlighting Franklin County

County Seat:

Belgreen      1818 – 1890

Russellville  1890 – present


County Courthouse – Russellville


Location:  410 North Jackson Avenue / East Limestone Street

Built:  1955 – 1956

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Johnson and Jones of Starkville, Mississippi

Contractor:  Craig and Baskerville Inc. of Florence


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a two story gray colored limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Russellville. The northwest front has a projecting center section with six vertical dividers with entrance and clock in the center. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 34th Judicial Circuit and the County District Court and County Probate Court. On the southeast side is the two story buff colored brick Courthouse Annex constructed in 1936 to 1937 under the Works Administration Program. To the southwest across the street is the Elizabeth Lucas County Courthouse Annex constructed by Carl S Mitchell and Home Builders in 2002.


History:  The county was created in 1818 and Belgreen was selected as the county seat., the first courthouse was a wood structure built by Mr. Dooley in Belgreen. In 1890, the building was destroyed by fire and the county seat was moved to Russellville. The second three story brick courthouse was designed by Mr. Rosseau and constructed by John Barrett in 1891 in Russellville. The building was destroyed by fire on January 13, 1953. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1955 and 1956.




County Courthouse – Russellville
















Courthouse Annex 1937 – Russellville
















County Courthouse Annex 2002 – Russellville







Photos taken 2010 and 2018