Elmore County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Elmore County

Elmore County is named for John Archer Elmore, who was a veteran of the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Coosa County and Tallapoosa County

E – Tallapoosa County

S – Macon County and Montgomery County 

W – Autauga County and Chilton County


Created:  February 15, 1866                                                      Map of Alabama highlighting Elmore County

County Seat:

Wetumpka  1866 – present


County Courthouse – Wetumpka


Location:  100 East Commerce Street / Court Street

Built:  1931 – 1932

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Warren, Knight & Davis of Birmingham

Contractor:  Algernon Blair, Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story gray colored limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Wetumpka. The north front has a recessed porch with eight large Doric columns. There are three large brass doors in the center. There are columns along the east and west sides. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Probate Court.


See: The architect, Warren, Knight & Davis of Birmingham, Alabama, designed courthouses in Lawrence County and in Florida in Franklin County, Gulf County and Walton County.


County Judicial Building – Wetumpka




Location:  8935 US Highway 231 / Highway 9

Built:  1994 – 1995

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Tiller Rosa Associates

Contractor:  Central Contracting, Inc.


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a two story brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds to the north of the center of Wetumpka. The northeast front has a large portico with six columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. Behind the columns are glass panels. The green colored roof is hipped. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 19th Judicial Cuircuit and the County Distric Courtt.


See:  The 19th Judicial Circuit includes Autauga County and Chilton County. 


History:  The county was created in 1866 and Wetumpka was selected as the county  seat. The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built by Arthur Marshall in Wetumpka in 1865 to 1868. The courthouse was torn down when the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1931 to 1932. The Judicial Building was constructed in 1994 to 1995.




County Courthouse – Wetumpka



















County Circuit Court courtroom







County Judicial Building – Wetumpka










taken 2010 and 2014