Barbour County

US States / A-G / Alabama / Barbour County

 Barbour County is named for James Barbour, who was a Governor of the State of Virginia.


Created:  December 18, 1832

County Seat:

Clayton  1832 – present


County Courthouse – Clayton


Location:  113 Court Square / Midway Street

Built:  1960 – 1961

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Carl Herbert Lancaster Jr.

Contractor:  Mid-South Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick, glass and concrete structure. On the east front is a projecting enclosed porch with dark glass walls. Above the porch are three windows. Behind is a gray colored stone facade with buff colored  brick covering the rest of the building. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1854 and remodeled in 1924.


County Courthouse – Eufaula




Location:  303 East Broad Street / North Orange Avenue

Built:  1923 – 1924

Style:  French Renaissance

Architect:  Shields-Guice Lumber Company of Dawson, Georgia

Contractor:  Shields-Guice Lumber Company of Dawson, Georgia


Description:  The building  faces north and is a two story red colored brick structure. The center section on the north has a porch with four high brick pillars and four columns along the recessed wall. Along the roof are dormers. The roof is sloped. The building was renovated in 1986. The architect was Blondheim & Mixon, Inc. and the contractor was Anderson Construction Company of Fort Gaines, Georgia.


Note:  The City of Eufaula contributed $15,000 toward construction costs, and the Board of Revenue awarded a building contract of $34,958.52 to Shields-Guice Lumber Company of Dawson, Georgia. A heating-system contract was let to Walter Denison of Columbus, Georgia.



 Bullock County and Russell County

E – Stewart County, Georgia and Quitman County, Georgia

S – Henry County and Dale County

W – Pike County and Bullock County



































Photos taken 2010