Wasatch County

US States / O-U / Utah / Wasatch County

Wasatch County is named for the Native American word meaning “mountain pass”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Summit County

E – Duchesne County

S – Utah County

W – Utah County and Salt Lake County 


Created:  January 17, 1862                    Map of Utah highlighting Wasatch County

County Seat: 

Heber City  1862 – present


County Courthouse – Heber City 


Location:  1361 South Highway 40 / East 1200 Street South

Built:  1993 – 1994

Style:  Modern

Architect:  EAD Inc.

Contractor:  Brown-Foutz Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story yellow colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the south of the center of the city. The west front has a projecting wall with square openings. Behind the wall the building rises to a peak above the central entrance.


Note:  The first courts met in the Latter Day Saints Tithing Office. In 1882 the first courthouse was designed and constructed by Alexander Fortie. An addition was constructed in 1924. The second courthouse was constructed in 1967.


See:  The 4th Judicial District includes Juab County, Millard County and Utah County.


County Administration Building – Heber City 




Location:  73 Main Street / West Center Street

Built:  1967 – 1968

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Young & Fowler Associates

Contractor:  Richard J Miller & Sons


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The east front has wide steps leading up to the recessed glass entrance.  White colored horizontal bands run below the flat roof line. The building served as the courthouse until the new courthouse was constructed.




County Courthouse – Heber City







County Administration Building – Heber City







Photos taken 2009