Summit County

US States / O-U / Utah / Summit County

Summit County is named for the summit of the Wasatch Mountains which run through the county and has the 39 highest peaks in Utah.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Morgan CountyRich CountyUinta County, Wyoming and Sweetwater County, Wyoming

E – Daggett County

S – Duchesne County and Wasatch County

W – Salt Lake County and Morgan County


Created:  January 13, 1854                    Map of Utah highlighting Summit County

County Seat: 

Wanship    1861 – 1872

Coalville    1872 – present


County Courthouse – Coalville


Location:  60 North Main Street / East 50 North Street


Built:  1903 – 1904

Style:  Romanesque Rival

Architect:  Charles F Woods

Contractor:  E J Beggs of Park City and J H Salmon of Coalville


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story yellow-white colored sandstone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Coalville. The west front has a projecting center section with arched entrance on the first story, three arched windows on the second story and two arched windows on the third story which rises to a point. The building is faced with sandstone. The roof is hipped. In the interior is woodwork and metal pressed ceilings. The courtroom is located on the second story. In 1997 an addition was added on the east side. The architect was P J H M Architects of Cedar City and the contractor was Eagon-Johansen Company of Salt Lake City.



County Courthouse – Park City




Location:  6300 Silver Creek Drive / Justice Center Road

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Salt Lake County and Tooele County.


History:  The county was created in 1854 and Wanship was selected as the county seat in 1861 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a log cabin built by Stephen Nixon in 1859 which is still standing in Nauvoo, Illinois. In 1872 the county seat was moved to Coalville. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1872. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1903 and 1904 at a cost of $19,887. The cost of the 1997 addition was $2,755,310. The County Justice Center was constructed in Park City



County Courthouse – Coalville



















County Justice Center – Park City

Photos taken 2009