San Juan County

US States / O-U / Utah / San Juan County
San Jua

San Juan County is named for the San Juan River which flows through the county and was named by Spanish explorers for “Saint John”.


Created:  February 17, 1880

County Seat: 

Monticello  1895 – present


County Courthouse – Monticello 


Location:  117 South Main Street / East 100 Street South

Built:  1920 – 1922

Style:  Renaissance

Architect:  Ashton and Nielson Contractors

Contractor:  Ashton & Nielson Contractors


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story dark red colored brick structure. The building has four stone columns supporting a wide white headed above the entrance. Above are four white vertical bands with an arched window on the second story. Above this is a white framed pediment with a white cornice along the roof line. The first story windows are arched. There is a rough stone basement. On the east side is an addition constructed in 1955.


Note:  The bid for construction was accepted at $57,000. In 1922, the first two occupied rooms in the courthouse were without adequate heating and modern plumbing. In 1927, the rooms of the clerk and treasurer were occupied. The total cost of the completed building was $47,937.


County Public Safety Building – Monticello 




Location:  297 South Main Street / East 300 Street South

Built:  1988 – 1989

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a one story dark red colored brick structure. The building has an over hang on the front supported by concrete pillars. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Court.



N – Grand County

E – Mesa County, Colorado, Montrose County, Colorado, San Miguel County, Colorado, Dolores County, Colorado and Montezuma County, Colorado

S – Apache County, Arizona, Navajo County and Coconino County, Arizona 

W – Kane County, Garfield County and Wayne County

















Photos taken 2008