Emery County

US States / O-U / Utah / Emery County

Emery County is named for George W. Emery, who was a Governor of Utah.


Created:  February 12, 1880

County Seat: 

Castle Dale  1880 – present


County Courthouse – Castle Dale 


Location:  75 East Main Street / North 100 Street East

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Cannon and Fetzer

Contractor:  Tolboe and Tolboe


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick, concrete and glass  structure. The building has a central entrance which framed with white trim with a vertical window above the first story entrance. Two Art Deco lighting fixtures frame the doorway. White trim is above each window and forms a horizontal band below the second story windows. White panels are below the first story windows.



N – Carbon County

E – Grand County

S – Wayne County

W – Sevier County and Sanpete County












Photos taken 2008