Beaver County

US States / O-U / Utah / Beaver County

Beaver County is named for the many beavers located in the region.


Created:  January 5, 1856

County Seat: 

Beaver  1858 – present


Old County Courthouse – Beaver 


Location:  60 West Center Street / South 100 Street East

Built:  1876 – 1882

Style:  Victorian

Architect:  William Stokes

Contractor:  William Stokes


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story red colored brick and wood structure. The building has an arched entrance on the first story. Above the entrance is a small balcony with white doors. At the roof is a square wood cupola with clock and at the top is an octagonal wood cupola with round black roof. The foundation is black igneous rock quarried in the mountains. The roof is hipped. The building was rebuilt in 1890. The Architect was Richard K A Kletting. A sandstone jail was constructed at the rear of the building.


Note:  The cost of the original construction was $10,960. The courthouse was partially destroyed by fire 1n 1889 and was rebuilt. On November 14, 1901, the courthouse was damaged by an earth quake.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Beaver County Courthouse


County Public Safety Building – Beaver 




Location:  2160 South 600 Street West

Built:  1996 – 1998

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Abram Gillies of Gillies Stranssky Brems Smith of Salt Lake City

Contractor:  Sahara Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The east front has an open portico of concrete pillars and white beams with the entrance being recessed. The roof line is flat. The building houses the county court.


County Administration – Beaver




Location:  105 East Center Street / South 100 Street East

Built:  1974 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Edwards & Daniels Architects, Inc. of Salt Lake City

Contractor:  Prestwich and Healy


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story reddish colored brick structure. The building has few windows on the south front. The roof line is flat. The building served as the county courthouse until the Public Safety Building was constructed in 1998.



N – Millard County

E – Sevier County and Piute County

S – Iron County

W – Lincoln County, Nevada









































Photos taken 2008 and 2013