Washington County

US States / O-U / Texas / Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Created:  March 17, 1836

County Seat: 

Washington-on-the-Brazos  1837 – 1841

Mount Vernon                      1841 – 1844

Brenham                              1844 – present


County Courthouse – Brenham


Location:  100 East Main Street / North Park Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Travis Broesche

Contractor:  C L Browning, Jr.


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story limestone,concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The central section extends from the higher main building and has vertical windows and panels. On the upper part is a clock. The roof line is flat. The building is a Public Works Administration project.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Washington-on-the-Brazos in 1837. The second courthouse was built in Mount Vernon in 1841. The third courthouse was built in Brenham in 1844. The fourth courthouse was a Greek Revival structure built in 1852. The fifth courthouse was an Italianate structure designed by J N Preston and constructed by Waite & Gardner in 1884. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $200,000.



N – Burleson County and Brazos County

E – Grimes County and Waller County

S – Austin County

W – Fayette County and Lee County





County Courthouse






















Photos taken 2006, 2014 and 2019