Tyler County

US States / O-U / Texas / Tyler County

Tyler County is named for John Tyler, who was the tenth president of the United States from 1841 to 1845.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Angelina County

E – Jasper County

S – Hardin County

W – Polk County


Created:  April 3, 1846                            Map of Texas highlighting Tyler County

County Seat: 

Woodville  1846 – present


County Courthouse – Woodville  


Location:  100 West Bluff Street / South Magnolia Street

Built:  1891 – 1892

Style:  Italianate and Classical Revival

Architect:  T S Hodges of Glover and Hodges of Corpus Christi

Contractor:  M A McKnight & McKnight Brothers


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff colored brick structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in center of Woodville. The north front has a large staircase to the second story entrance. The windows are arched. Above the entrance are three small windows on the third story and a large square tower with smaller tower on the fifth story.  The roof line is flat. The addition on the south side was constructed in 1935 to 1937 under the Works Progress Administration. The architect was W C Meador.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1840. The second courthouse was a two story frame structure in 1856. The third courthouse was constructed at a cost of $30,000.




County Courthouse – Woodville






















Photos taken 2011