Smith County

US States / O-U / Texas / Smith County

Smith County is named for James Smith, who was a general during the Texas Revolution.


Created:  April 11, 1846

County Seat: 

Tyler  1846 – present


County Courthouse – Tyler  


Location:  100 North Broadway Avenue / East Erwin Street

Built:  1953 – 1954

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Thomas Jameson & Merrell and E Davis Wilcox

Contractor:  Rambo Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a six story concrete, buff colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The central section rises six stories with three vertical rows of windows in the center and small windows on the north and south. The north and south wings are two stories with vertical windows. Dark red colored granite frames the west central entrance. The building houses the Twelfth Court of Appeals.


Note:  Courthouses were built in 1846, 1848 and 1851. In 1910, the courthouse was designed by C H Page Jr. and constructed by M M Whitney.



N – Wood County and Upshur County

E – Gregg County and Rusk County

S – Cherokee County

W – Henderson County and Van Zandt County





County Courthouse



















Photos taken 2010