Lipscomb County

US States / O-U / Texas / Lipscomb County

Lipscomb County is named for Abner Smith Lipscomb, who was a justice of the Texas Supreme Court from 1846 to 1856 and secretary of state of the Republic of Texas in 1840.


Created:  August 21, 1876

County Seat:

Lipscomb  1876 – present


County Courthouse – Lipscomb 


Location:  100 South Main Avenue / Main Street

Built:  1915 – 1916

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  William M Rice of Amarillo

Contractor:  William M Rice of Amarillo and Edward S Altmiller


Description: The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The west front has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns rising to a pediment above the roof line. A wide cornice runs below the flat roof line. The courtroom is located on the second story.


See:  The contractor, William M Rice of Amarillo, also constructed courthouses as W M Rice Construction Company in Bailey CountyBriscoe CountyCochran CountyFreestone CountyLimestone County, Oldham County, Parmer County and Wood County and designed the courthouse in Lynn County..


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1887.



N – Beaver County, Oklahoma

E – Ellis County, Oklahoma

S – Hemphill County

W – Ochiltree County





County Courthouse



















Photos taken 2010