Hardin County

US States / O-U / Texas / Hardin County

Hardin County is named for Hardin, a family from Liberty County in Texas.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Polk County and Tyler County

E – Jasper County and Orange County

S – Jefferson County

W – Liberty County


Created:  January 22, 1858                    Map of Texas highlighting Hardin County

County Seat: 

Hardin     1858 – 1886

Kountze  1886 – present


County Courthouse – Kountze  


Location:  300 West Monroe Street / Pecan Street

Built:  1958 – 1959

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Dickson-Dickson & Associates

Contractor:  Lumbeck Construction Company of Houston


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Kountze. The north front has stone facing with clock at the west side and horizontal windows with green-blue colored dividers. The roof line is flat. At the northwest corner is the cupola from the old courthouse which is connected to the main building by an enclosed passage. The building was enlarged in 1978. The architect was Dickson, Dickson Bullock and the contractor was Daniels Construction Company


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Hardin in 1859. The second courthouse was built in 1872 and burned in 1886 resulting in the move of the county seat to Kountze. The third courthouse was a three story stone structure designed by Andrew P Bryan and constructed by M T Lewman & Company in 1904. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $1,500,000.




County Courthouse – Kountze













Dome from 1904 Courthouse – Kountze




Cupola from 1904 County Courthouse







Picture 1904 County Courthouse







Photos taken 2011