Coke County

US States / O-U / Texas / Coke County

Coke County is named for Robert Coke, who was the fifteenth governor of Texas from 1874 to 1876.


Created:  March 13, 1889

County Seat: 

Hayrick        1889 – 1890

Robert Lee  1890 – present


County Courthouse – Robert Lee


Location:  13 7th Street / Commerce Street

Built:  1955 – 1956

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Wyatt C Hedrick and Harry Weaver

Contractor:  Suggs Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The north front has a high rectangular center section with vertical and horizontal dividers. The central entrance is on the first story with glass panel walls on either side. The east and west wings are one story with a recessed second story along the south side of the building. The roof line is flat.


See:  The architect, Wyatt C Hedrick of Fort Worth also designed courthouses in Austin CountyBrazoria CountyComanche County, Kaufman County, Kent County, Motley County and Yoakum County.


Note:  The first courthouse was a log structure built in Hayrick in 1889. The second and previous courthouse was designed by Oscar Ruffini and the contractor was Martin, Byrne & Johnston in Robert Lee in 1891. The building was demolished in 1955.



N – Mitchell County and Nolan County

E – Runnels County

S – Tom Green County

W – Sterling County





County Courthouse

























Photos taken 2014