Angelina County

US States / O-U / Texas / Angelina County

Angelina County is named for Angelina, who was a Hainai Native America girl who became an enthusiastic convert of the Franciscan missionaries and was named “Angelina” by the missionaries.


Created:  April 22, 1846

County Seat: 

Marion       !846 – 1854

Jonesville  1854 – 1858

Homer       1858 – 1892

Lufkin        1892 – present


County Courthouse – Lufkin


Location:  215 Lufkin Avenue / North 3rd Street

Built:  1954 – 1955

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Wilbur Kent

Contractor:  Temple Associates


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Lufkin. The south front has a lower east section with the upper part being white colored concrete with a large clock. The west part has vertical concrete dividers rising to the top of the second story. The entrance is in the center of the south side. The third story has small windows with white colored panels between.


Note:  The first courthouse was a two story log cabin built in Marion in 1847. The second courthouse was also built in Marion in 1849. The third courthouse was a two story frame structure built in Homer in 1873 and which burned in 1891. The fourth courthouse was a frame structure built in Lufkin in 1892. At a cost of $2000. The fifth courthouse was a three story brick structure designed by James Riely Gordon and constructed by B B Shearer, S W Henderson and Theodore Miller in 1903 and served until the sixth and present courthouse was constructed.



N – Cherokee County and Nacogdoches County

E – San Augustine County

S – Jasper County, Tyler County and Polk County

W – Trinity County and Houston County





County Courthouse – Lufkin



















Photos taken 2010