Sevier County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Sevier County

Sevier County is named for John Sevier, who was a governor of the State of Franklin and a Governor of the State of Tennessee.


Created:  September 28, 1794

County Seat: 

Sevierville  1794 – present


County Courthouse – Sevierville 


Location:  125 Court Avenue / Bruce Street

Built:  1895

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Kenneth McDonald of Louisville, Kentucky

Contractor:  C W Brown of Lenoir City


Description:  The building faces east and  is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The east front has three large arches on the first story and five arched windows on the second story. Each of the corners have large square brick towers with gold colored domes. On the center of the roof is a high clock tower with tiers rising to a small cupola with gold colored dome. The foundation of the building is white colored limestone. The brick mason was Isaac Dockery. The building was remodeled from 1971 to 1973. The architect was Community Tectonics, Inc. and the contractor was Carel Cate and Son. In 1990 to 1994, an annex was constructed on the west side. The architect was Robert Grubb and the contractor was Rouse Construction Company.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1794. The fourth courthouse was built in 1856. The fifth and present courthouse was completed on November 10, 1895 at cost of $22,000. The limestone came from a nearby quarry and Isaac Dockery, a notable African American brick mason in Sevierville, manufactured the bricks. The centerpiece of the courthouse is the Seth Thomas clock which is located in the 130 foot high tower. This clock cost more than $1,300 and is still operational today. The first court session was held on October 5, 1896. The cost of the addition in 1990 was $1,400,000.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Sevier County Courthouse



N – Knox County and Jefferson County

E – Cocke County

S – Swain County, North Carolina

W – Blount County and Knox County





County Courthouse





































Old Clock







Photos taken 2012 and 2018