Marshall County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Marshall County

Marshall County is named for John Marshall, who was Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Williamson County and Rutherford County

E – Bedford County

S – Lincoln County and Giles County

W – Giles County and Maury County


Created:  February 20, 1836                  Map of Tennessee highlighting Marshall County

County Seat:  

Lewisburg  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Lewisburg  


Location:  107 South 1st Avenue / Commerce Street

Built:  1928 – 1929

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Hart, Freeland and Roberts

Contractor:  Martin & Warlick


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on the landscaped grounds of Courthouse Square in the center of Lewisburg. The east front has eight columns rising from the second story to the third story with glass panel windows between. Above is a wide header with clock siting above the roof line. In the interior, the large courtroom is located on the second story, the Chancery Court courtroom is located on the southeast side of the first story and a small courtroom is located on the northwest side of the basement. The building houses the County Circuit Court, County Chancery Court and County General Sessions Court and County Juvenile Court of the 17th Judicial District. The building was renovated in 1974 and 1998. Further renovation was completed from 2008 to 2015. The architect was Quinn Evans Architect and the contractors were DF Chase and Orion Construction. 


County Courthouse Annex – Lewisburg  




Location:  101  West Commerce Street / South 1st Avenue

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Modern Classical

Architect:  James M Wilson

Contractor:  T W Frierson


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story glass and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Lewisburg across from the courthouse. The rectangular shaped building was constructed as the First National Bank Building and became the Courthouse Annex in 1998. The roof line is flat. 


First County Courthouse - Lewisburg


Location:  South 2nd Avenue (Highway 31A) / Yell Road

Built:  1835

Style:  Log Cabin

Architect:  Abner Houston

Contractor:  Abner Houston


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story log cabin structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on the landscaped grounds near the Lone Oak Cemetery to the south of the center of Lewisburg. Originally the home of Abner Houston, the building served as the first courthouse from October 3, 1836 to 1838. The door is on the north side and the roof is hipped. The building has no windows. The home originally stood on Haynes Street two blocks north of the present courthouse.


See:  The 17th Judicial District includes Bedford County, Lincoln County and Moore County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Lewisburg was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a one story log cabin structure built by Abner Houston and used as a courthouse in 1836 to 1838, and which is still standing. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1838. The building burned on November 12, 1873. The third courthouse was designed by Thomas D Moore, Samuel Davis, J B Ezell, James Hendrick and James W Nance and constructed in 1874. The building burned in 1927. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1828 to 1929.




County Courthouse – Lewisburg





































Picture 1874 County Courthouse










County Courthouse Annex – Lewisburg













Photos taken 2012 and 2018