Macon County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Macon County

Macon County is named for Nathaniel Macon, who was a United States Senator.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Allen County, Kentucky and Monroe County, Kentucky

E – Clay County and Jackson County

S – Smith County and Trousdale County

W – Sumner County

Created:  January 18, 1842                    Map of Tennessee highlighting Macon County

County Seat: 

Lafayette  1842 – present


County Courthouse – Lafayette


Location:  Public Square / Main Street

Built:  1932 – 1933

Style:  Moderne and Art Deco

Architect:  George D Waller

Contractor:  L E Tate & Son of Nashville and Florence, Alabama


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Public Square in the center of the city. The southwest front has a slightly projecting center section with entrance on the first story and double windows above on the second story. A horizontal belt runs above the second story windows. On the northwest side is a one story addition. The roof line is flat. The building was renovated in 1972. The architect was Clemmons & Gingles and the contractor was Howard A Smith. The building houses the county administration since the Judicial Center was constructed in 2002.


See:  The contractor  L E Tate & Son of Nashville and Florence, Alabama also constructed the courthouse in Decatur County.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Jackson CountySmith CountyTrousdale County and Wilson County.


Note:  The first courthouse was a two story brick structure built in 1844. The building burned in 1860 and the second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1861. The building burned in 1901. The third courthouse was also a two story brick structure built in 1901. The building burned in 1932.




County Courthouse - Lafayette  





































Photos taken 2014