Dickson County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Dickson County

Dickson County is named for William Dickson, who was a United States Representative to Congress.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Montgomery County and Cheatham County

E – Cheatham County and Williamson County

S – Hickman County 

W – Humphreys County and Houston County


Created:  October 25, 1803                    Map of Tennessee highlighting Dickson County

County Seat: 

Charlotte  1803 – present


Old County Courthouse – Charlotte


Location:  1 Courthouse Square / Clark Street

Built:  1806 – 1812

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Phillip Murray.

Contractor:  Phillip Murray.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story dark red colored brick structure. The building is located on a low hill in the center of Courthouse Square in the center of Courthouse Square in the center of Charlotte. The central entrance on the south side is framed with white colored wood. The roof is hipped with a white colored octagonal cupola on the center of the roof. In the interior a long hallway runs east and west with stairs ascending to the second story where the large courtroom is located. The building houses the County General Sessions Court of the 23rd Judicial District. The east and west wings were added in 1931 to 1932. The architect was Daughtery & Gardner and the contractor was EE Austin of Nashville.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Charlotte Courthouse Square


See:  The courthouse is one of six remaining working Antebellum courthouses in Tennessee located in Carter CountyHawkins CountyJefferson CountyRutherford County and Williamson County.


County Courthouse  – Charlotte




Location:  4 Courthouse Square / Clark Street

Built:  1974 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Architect-Engineer Associates

Contractor:  Bomar Construction Company.


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red-brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Charlotte to the south of the courthouse and sits on the side of a slope with the entrance on the second story with a one story portico with flat roof. The building is “L” shaped with a south and west wing. The roof is hipped. In the interior is a courtroom. The building houses the County Circuit Court and County Chancery Court of the 23rd Judicial District. The building is named as the Dickson County Courthouse and Office Building. 


County Juvenile Court Building – Charlotte


Location:  4000 Highway 48 North / Academy Street

Built:  Unknown

Style:  Schoolhouse

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story red-brown colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the north of the center of Charlotte. The building is “U” shaped with an east, south and west wing and was constructed as a school. The building houses the County Juvenile Court and County Probate Court of the 23rd Judicial District.


See:  The 23rd Judicial District includes Cheatham CountyHouston CountyHumphreys County and Stewart County.


History:  The county was created in 1803 and Charlotte was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse in 1803 was a log structure built in 1792. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure built between 1806 to 1812, and was patterned after the 1802 courthouse which had been built in Nashville. In 1830, the building was almost destroyed by a tornado and Phillip Murray was hired to rebuild the structure. The building is the oldest working courthouse in Tennessee. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1974 to 1976.




Old County Courthouse - Charlotte 

























County Courthouse - Charlotte 













Photos taken 2014