Cannon County

US States / O-U / Tennessee / Cannon County

Cannon County is named for Newton Cannon, who was Governor of Tennessee from 1835 to 1839.


Created:  January 21, 1836 

County Seat: 

Woodbury  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Woodbury  


Location:  200 West Main Street / Tatum Street

Built:  1935 – 1936

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  George D Waller of Nashville

Contractor:  Bell Brothers.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The south front has a central entrance on the first story with four pilasters rising to a header at the roof line. A high square white colored cupola rises above the entrance at the roof line having a clock and an open octagonal section with gold colored dome at the top. There is trim along the corners of the building. The base of the building is course stone. The red colored roof is hipped. The courtroom is located on the second story.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by William Bates in 1838 at a cost of $13,000. The courthouse burned on November 13, 1934. The second courthouse and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $45,000.



N – Wilson County and DeKalb County

E – Warren County

S – Coffee County

W – Rutherford County





County Courthouse

























Photos taken 2014 and 2018