Ziebach County

US States / O-U / South Dakota / Ziebach County

Ziebach County is named for F M Ziebach, who was a noted pioneer editor and a legislator in 1877.                        


Created:  February 1, 1911

County Seat:                

Dupree  1911 – present


County Courthouse – Dupres


Location:  SE – Main Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1930 – 1931

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Hugill & Blatherwick

Contractor:  A J Clocksin & Company


Description:  The building faces faces west and is a three story reddish-orange colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The west front of the rectangular building has stone trim around the entrance with a small projecting balcony on the second story. The center section extends slightly from the main building and has a pediment at the roof line. A projecting cornice runs below the flat roof line.


Note:  The first courthouse is a one story white colored wood structure built in 1911. The building is now Harry’s Community Hall.at Main Street and 3rd Street.



N – Corson County

E – Dewey County

S – Haakon County

W – Meade County and Perkins County





County Courthouse










Photos taken 2009